Los Alamos Historic District
Originally built for the Los Alamos Ranch School, the log and stone buildings from the 1920s that make up the Los Alamos Historic District offer a unique glimpse into days gone by. In 1943, the masters' cottages became home to prominent scientists on the Manhattan Project, and the spectacular three-story, upright log dining hall became a cafeteria where, on occasion, up to six Nobel Prize winners would dine together and discuss the physics problems they were attempting to overcome. Today, most of the cottages are private homes that can be viewed along the Los Alamos Historic Walking Tour. The Los Alamos Historical Museum is housed in one of the buildings, and former dining hall, Fuller Lodge, is owned by Los Alamos County and serves as a community building.
Time Period Represented