Salmon Ruins is an 11th century pueblo affiliated with the Chacoan Culture of northwestern New Mexico. The site exhibits classic examples of Chaco-style architecture and is open for public viewing as a self-guided interpretive trail that winds through the archaeological site. Salmon Ruins Museum exhibits some of the one and a half million artifacts recovered during excavations of the 1970s, including ceramics, lithics, other artifacts, and related temporary exhibits. Heritage Park contains architectural replicas of different cultures through time that you may enter and experience. The Salmon Homestead Complex contains the 1890s home of George Salmon, original owner of the ruin. Finally, a Research Library is available during the Museum's regular business hours for archaeological or historical research needs.
Hours OpenSummer (May-October): Mon-Fri 8 A.M. - 5 P.M., Sat-Sun 9 A.M. -5 P.M. Winter (November-April): Mon-Fri 8 A.M. -5 P.M., Sat 9 A.M. - 5 P.M., Sun 12 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Time Period RepresentedPueblo-II and III (AD 1088-1300) and Historic (AD1876 - 1950) Periods.
Visitor FeesAdults (16-60) $3; Seniors (over 60) $2; Children (6-16) $1; and Kids (5 & under) Free.
ADA Accessibility Notes
The Museum is completely ADA accessible, but established trails through the Ruins and Heritage Park are packed earth and/or gravel. Upper/ Museum parking areas are paved and accessible, however, lower (Ruins and Heritage Park) parking is gravel.
Pet Friendly Notes
Pets on a leash are allowed in the Museum and Heritage Park, but not within the ruins.